Byrne Group Plate recent winners

Cheltenham Festival Staff in Thursday 16 February 2012
CHELTENHAM, ENGLAND - MARCH 17: Keiran Burke wins the Byrne Group Plate Steeple Chase on Holmwood Legend at Cheltenham Racecourse on March 17, 2011 in Cheltenham, England. (Photo by Scott Heavey/Getty Images)

The Byrne Group Plate (4:00pm) is a Class A Grade 3 handicap chase run over two miles and five furlongs and is open to horses aged five years old and upwards. The total prize fund in 2011 was £75,000.

Recent Winners

The Byrne Group Plate (formerly called The Festival Plate, The Racing Post Plate and The Mildmay of Flete) has proven to be a successful race in recent years for the yards of Venetia Williams and Nicky Henderson, who have trained the winner of four of the last five renewals.

Novice chasers have a good record in race as they often turn out to be well handicapped compared to their more experienced rivals. However, with the introduction of the Jewson Handicap specifically for novices, that trend may decline in coming years.

2011 Holmwood Legend
2010 Great Endeavour
2009 Something Wells
2008 Mister McGoldrick
2007 Idole First
2006 Non So
2005 Liberthine
2004 Tikram
2003 Young Spartacus
2002 Blowing Wind
2000 Dark Stranger
1999 Majadou
1998 Super Coin
1997 Terao
1996 Old Bridge
1995 Kadi
1994 Elfast

Latest Byrne Group Plate Stories

From Around the Site

The Best Bookmakers In United States