Champion Bumper recent winners

CHELTENHAM, ENGLAND - MARCH 16: Former champion flat jockey Kieren Fallon rides Refinement (C) in The Weatherbys Champion Bumper at Cheltenham Racecourse during the second day of the annual National Hunt Festival on March 16, 2005 in Cheltenham, England. (Photo by Julian Herbert/Getty Images)

The Weatherbys Champion Bumper Open NH Flat Race (5:15pm) is a Class A Grade 1 flat race run over two miles and about half a furlong. It is open to horses aged between 4 and 6 years old. The total prize fund in 2011 was £60,000.

Recent Winners

The Champion Bumper is the only flat race run at the Festival and as well as some of the most exciting young horses in training the race now also attracts some of the best jockeys from the Flat, including Jamie Spencer who won the 2002 renewal on board Pizarro.

Since 1992, 11 Champion Bumper winners have returned to the Festival the next year, three of whom won their Festival race (Montelado won the Supreme Novice Hurdle, Florida Pearl won the RSA Chase and Monsignor won what is now the Neptune Investment Novices' Hurdle) and two others were placed.

With the future in mind it is also worth keeping an eye not just on the placed horses but also on some of the horses further back in the field, as the race is bound to throw up some future big race winners. Trabolgen, French Holly, Iris’s Gift, Thisthatandtother, Rhinestone Cowboy, Wichita Lineman, Albertas Run and Fiveforthree to name but a few, were all beaten in their renewal of the Bumper but subsequently went on to make big names for themselves over hurdles or fences.

2011 Cheltenian
2010 Cue Card
2009 Dunguib
2008 Cousin Vinny
2007 Cork All Star
2006 Hairy Molly
2005 Missed That
2004 Total Enjoyment
2003 Liberman
2002 Pizarro
2000 Joe Cullen
1999 Monsignor
1998 Alexander Banquet
1997 Florida Pearl
1996 Wither Or Which
1995 Dato Star
1994 Mucklemeg
1993 Rhythm Section
1992 Montelado

Latest Champion Bumper Stories

From Around the Site

The Best Bookmakers In United States