If you’re looking to clue up on some of the most successful jockeys at Cheltenham Festival – past and present – you’ve come to the right place.

Peruse the below to read up on Cheltenham top jockey figures across the years and get to know the riders behind famous horses and racing victories from 1920 all the way through to the last few seasons.

So, without further ado…

Who are the most successful current jockeys?

With a remarkable fifteen winners in the last three years and a total of 32 wins to date, Ruby Walsh is the most successful jockey in the history of the Cheltenham Festival. 

He has been leading jockey at six of the last eight Festivals and in 2011 won five races, including both of the championship hurdle races with Hurricane Fly in the Champion Hurdle and Big Buck’s in the World Hurdle – a rare double only once achieved before, by John Francombe in 1981 aboard Sea Pigeon and Derring Rose.

Champion jockey Tony McCoy is now up to 25 triumphs courtesy of two more victories in 2011. He was also leading the Cheltenham jockeys  rider in both 1997 and 1998.

Barry Geraghty has 20 Festival wins to his name, ahead of Richard Johnson with 17 winners and Robert Thornton with 16 – numbers that punters would like to see the current crop hold for Cheltenham festival betting tips purposes.

Current Rankings

32 Ruby Walsh

25 Tony McCoy

20 Barry Geraghty

17 Richard Johnson

16 Robert Thornton

11 Paul Carberry

8 Davy Russell

8 Timmy Murphy

6 Paddy Brennan

5 Graham Lee

4 Miss Nina Carberry

3 Andrew Thornton

3 Mr J T McNamara

Betting tips for the Festival

In line with our top jockey Cheltenham 2020 predictions, we have the latest tips for you to punt on from the action of Champions Day, all the way through to the final day drama through our Gold Cup tips.

As Cheltenham festival 2020 unfolds, we’ll also have the St Patrick’s and Ladies Day wagers available for you from the push of a button.

So as the build-up for day 1 of the races hots up, you won’t miss out on a single moment of the betting action.

The Leading Rider Award

The Leading Rider Award is a prestigious prize for the most successful of the Cheltenham jockeys at each Festival, through the Gold Cup and Ladies Day races – the lot. It also provides an added element of competition at Cheltenham in addition to the 27 top-class races. 

A P McCoy, Richard Johnson, Barry Geraghty, Mick FitzGerald, Robert Thornton, and Graham Lee have all won the award as Cheltenham top jockey, although it is Ruby Walsh who has dominated recently.

Previous Leading Rider Award Winners

2011 Ruby Walsh         

2010 Ruby Walsh         

2009 Ruby Walsh         

2008 Ruby Walsh         

2007 Robert Thornton

2006 Ruby Walsh         

2005 Graham Lee         

2004 Ruby Walsh         

2003 Barry Geraghty         

2002 Richard Johnson

2000 Mick FitzGerald

1999 Mick FitzGerald

1998 Tony McCoy         

1997 Tony McCoy         

1996 Richard Dunwoody

1995 Norman Williamson

1994 Charlie Swan         

1993 Charlie Swan         

1992 Jamie Osborne         

1991 Peter Scudamore

1990 Richard Dunwoody

1989 Tom Morgan         

1988 Simon Sherwood

1987 Peter Scudamore

1986 Peter Scudamore

1985 Steve Smith Eccles

1984 Jonjo O’Neill         

1983 Graham Bradley

1982 Jonjo O’Neill         

1981 John Francome         

1980 Jim Wilson

Who are the best Cheltenham jockeys of all time?

Only a select band of jockeys have had ten or more Cheltenham Festival winners, although honorable mentions should go to Graham Bradley and Mark Dwyer, who both rode nine. 

In 2010 Ruby Walsh overtook the legendary Pat Taaffe, who rode four Gold Cup and five Champion Chase winners:

32 Ruby Walsh

25 Tony McCoy

25 Pat Taaffe

20 Barry Geraghty

18 Richard Dunwoody

17 Richard Johnson

17 Charlie Swan

17 Fred Winter

16 Robert Thornton

16 Tommy Carberry

14 Mick Fitzgerald

13 Peter Scudamore

11 Jamie Osborne

11 Norman Williamson

11 Paul Carberry

10 John Francombe

Take a read of our Cheltenham FAQ for more information.

Our best Cheltenham Offers

  • Get £100 In Free Bets On Cheltenham
  • Sign Up To Betfair Sportsbook
  • Claim This Amazing Offer Of £100 In Free Bets