We use cookies to enhance your visit on our website. If you continue to use the website, we assume that you agree to the use of cookies. Find out more about cookies and how you can decide your cookie settings by reading our privacy and cookie policy


Cheltenham Festival Trainers

Looking for information on the most successful trainers in the history of Cheltenham Festival? See who are the best trainers currently, and who holds the all-time records. 

Who are the most successful trainers currently?

Nicky Henderson is the leading current trainer at The Festival, having sent out 39 winners since 1985. 

His two successes in 2011 put him just one behind Fulke Walwyn, who sent out his 40 winners over a five-decade period.

Paul Nicholls continues to rapidly build on his record with a total of 30 Festival winners (27 of these in the last 9 years), including 3 more in 2011.

With 21 victories, Willie Mullins is the leading active Irish trainer at the Festival and third on the all-time list behind Arkle's trainer Tom Dreaper, with 26 winners, and Vincent O'Brien who had 23.

Current Rankings

39 Nicky Henderson
30 Paul Nicholls
21 Willie Mullins (IRE)
18 Edward O'Grady (IRE)
18 Jonjo O’Neill
15 Philip Hobbs
13 Nigel Twiston-Davies
12 Alan King
9 David Elsworth
9 Ferdy Murphy
8 Arthur Moore (IRE)
7 David Pipe
7 Howard Johnson
7 Jessica Harrington (IRE)
7 Henrietta Knight
7 Mouse Morris (IRE)
6 Francois Doumen (FR)
6 Oliver Sherwood
5 Dessie Hughes (IRE)
5 Venetia Williams
5 Enda Bolger (IRE)

Leading Trainer Awards History

The Leading Trainer Award is always competitive with trainers representing Great Britain, Ireland and France aiming for the prize. Willie Mullins capped a memorable 2011 Cheltenham Festival by winning the award for the first time, with four winners and established himself as one of the great in 2013 with 5 winners. 

Mullins is is the first Irish trainer to take the title since Edward O'Grady shared the award in 1996.

Paul Nicholls has dominated in recent years, having taken the prize at four consecutive Festivals and six times in total (1999, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009).

Previous Leading Trainer Award Winners

2013 Willie Mullins 5
2012 Nicky Henderson 6
2011 Willie Mullins 4
2010 Nicky Henderson 3
2009 Paul Nicholls 5
2008 Paul Nicholls 3
2007 Paul Nicholls 4
2006 Paul Nicholls 3
2005 Howard Johnson 3
2004 Paul Nicholls 4
2003 Jonjo O’Neill 3
2002 Martin Pipe 3
2000 Nicky Henderson 4
1999 Paul Nicholls 3
1998 Martin Pipe 4
1997 Martin Pipe 4
1996 Ferdy Murphy, Edward O’Grady, Martin Pipe 2
1995 David Nicholson 3
1994 David Nicholson, Edward O’Grady, Martin Pipe 2
1993 Nicky Henderson, Martin Pipe, Nigel Twiston-Davies 2
1992 Nicky Henderson, David Nicholson, Simon Sherwood 2
1991 Martin Pipe 3
1990 Nicky Henderson 2
1989 Toby Balding, John Edwards, David Elsworth, Josh Gifford, Martin Pipe 2
1988 Josh Gifford 3
1987 Toby Balding, Nicky Henderson, Fred Winter 2
1986 Nicky Henderson 3
1985 Nicky Henderson 3
1984 Michael Dickinson 3
1983 Michael Dickinson 3
1982 Michael Dickinson, Fulke Walwyn 2
1981 Peter Easterby 3
1980 John Edwards, Edward O’Grady, Bob Turnell, Fred Winter 2

Who are the most successful trainers of all time?

Fulke Walwyn's record of 40 winners at the Cheltenham Festival between 1946 and 1986 still stands. He trained the winners of four Gold Cups and two Champion Hurdles throughout his illustrious career and is commemorated in the title of the Fulke Walwyn, Kim Muir Memorial Chase at the Festival.

Martin Pipe saddled 34 Festival winners, starting with the 66-1 shot Baron Blakeney's victory over red-hot favourite Broadsword in the 1981 Triumph Hurdle. His other Festival winners included two Champion Hurdles with Granville Again in 1993 and novice Make A Stand in 1997, though victory in the Gold Cup eluded him (Rushing Wild came second in 1993). He retired after the 2006 Festival, handing over the reins to son, David Pipe, who already has five Festival victories to his name. The Martin Pipe Conditional Jockeys' Handicap Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival named in his honour.

Also of note is Fred Winter with 28 Festival winners and the only person to have won the Cheltenham Gold Cup, Champion Hurdle and Grand National as both jockey and trainer. In fact, he won the Gold Cup twice as a jockey and as for the Champion Hurdle, he won that a staggering three times as a jockey and four times as a trainer. He is also remembered at Cheltenham with the naming of the Fred Winter Juvenile Novices' Handicap Hurdle.

No trainer has ever won the Cheltenham Gold Cup, Champion Hurdle and Queen Mother Champion Chase in the same season or the Cheltenham Gold Cup, Champion Hurdle and the World Hurdle in the same season. Jim Dreaper won the Cheltenham Gold Cup, Queen Mother Champion Chase and World Hurdle in 1975 with Ten Up, Lough Inagh and Brown Lad respectively. Paul Nicholls won the Gold Cup, Queen Mother Champion Chase and World Hurdle in 2009 with Kauto Star, Master Minded and Big Buck's.
Find out who the most successful jockeys are at Cheltenham, including the best active jockeys and historic records. 

Free Bets United States
Change Location

*Terms & Conditions apply. Gamble Responsibly. 18+.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages