Cheltenham Day 1 Tips: Racing Post Arkle Trophy Chase

  • 28/12/2019
  • 14:10

2020 Arkle Novices’ Chase Tips

Brewin’upastorm and Rouge Vif have come in for support over the last week. I, however, haven’t been that impressed with many of the novice chasers in Britain this season, especially over two miles. Irish horses have dominated the Arkle Chase in recent times, claiming a 1-2-3 in this race 12 months ago, and I fancy raiders will come out on top once again amongst the Cheltenham Festival day one tips.

Notebook extended his unbeaten run over fences with a fine victory over Cash Back at the Dublin Racing Festival. Quotes from Henry De Bromhead’s stable tour suggest he’s come out of that tough race well. Yet, I think the favourite has already done his best work this season, and I can’t see Notebook having much progression left in the tank. He could feature in many Cheltenham Festival free bets.

The same cannot be said for FAKIR D’OUDAIRIES, who sealed a maiden Grade One victory with a runaway triumph in the Drinmore. Yes, Notebook beat Joseph O’Brien’s colt when giving him weight over Christmas. I think Mark Walsh will be disappointed with how that race panned out though, and Fakir D’Oudairies was still only beaten a couple of lengths, despite two messy jumps down the home straight.

While it seems that five-year-olds have a poor recent record in the Arkle. If you look a little deeper, you’ll see that only a handful of five-year-olds have taken part in the Arkle since horses of that age scored in 2004 and 2006, and most of those have run beyond their starting prices. Soft ground will see Joseph O’Brien throw Fakir D’Oudairies into the Arkle over the Marsh Novices’ Chase, and I’m confident he will provide JP McManus with a rare winner in this Grade One. He’ll be my sole Cheltenham Festival tip in the Arkle.

Cheltenham tips for Tuesday

1:30Supreme Novices’ Hurdle Tips
2:10Arkle Chase Tips
2:50The Ultima Handicap Steeple Chase Tips
3:30Champion Hurdle Challenge Trophy Tips
4:10Mares’ Hurdle Tips
4:50Novices’ Handicap Chase Tips
5:30National Hunt Chase Tips

The opening day of the Festival features a full seven races. Find all of our Cheltenham day 1 tips here to get full coverage of Champion Day.

The Racing Post Arkle Challenge Trophy Steeple Chase

The Arkle Challenge Cup brings together the best two milers from that season’s crop of novice chasers. Named after the greatest horse to have ever lived, Arkle made the yearly pilgrimage over from Ireland to Cheltenham, winning the Gold Cup for three years in a row during the 1960s.

Two miles of turf will have to be crossed at breakneck speed if any novice chasers wants to join greats like Flying Blot, Moscow Flyer and Sprinter Sacre on the illustrious roll of honour for this highly coveted Grade One and for coverage and the best Cheltenham day 1 tips, including the best bet for the Arkle and all Cheltenham day 1 races.

Betway Cheltenham Festival Welcome Offer

Daryl Carter’s Video Preview