Ryanair Chase Betting Tips

  • 16/03/2023
  • -:--

This page covers everything you need to know regarding Ryanair Chase betting. Our experts have examined the feature race on Day 3 of the 2023 Cheltenham Festival since its inception in 2005.

We take you through some crucial trends and factors to help you find the Ryanair winner, along with some key contenders to consider for this season’s renewal before we release our Ryanair Chase tips.


Burst back onto the scene with a dominant display in the Ascot Chase, and should take the world of beating in this. Nicky Henderson’s star is by far the classiest horse in the line up and he’s seen by many as one of the ‘bankers’ of the Festival.

Bet 365 superboost

9/4 Galopin Des Champs To Win Gold Cup

Claim Bonus 18+. T&Cs Apply. begambleaware.org

Ryanair Chase Tips – Overlooked Outsiders

We have yet to confirm this season’s Ryanair Chase, but we do have the early entries. Our 2023 Ryanair Chase tips will be uploaded nearer the festival.

Underdogs can strike in this race, it’s rare, but it can certainly happen. Balko Des Flos (8/1) beat reigning champion Un De Sceaux (an odds-on favourite) in 2018 to cause an upset. Before that, Uxizandre provided A P McCoy with his final Cheltenham Festival victory in 2015 at 16/1, beating Don Cossack, who went on to win the Gold Cup the following year. So it’s essential not to overlook the outsiders in the Ryanair Chase betting.

2023 Ryanair Chase Runners + Odds – Thursday 16th March 2:50

Horse Silks Jockey/Trainer Odds


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Nico de Boinville
T: Nicky Henderson
Blue Lord


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Paul Townend
T: Willie Mullins


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Mark Walsh
T: Willie Mullins
Fury Road


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Davy Russell
T: Gordon Elliott
Envoi Allen


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Rachael Blackmore
T: Henry De Bromhead
French Dynamite


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Darragh O’Keeffe
T: M F Morris
Ga Law


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Jonathan Burke
T: Jamie Snowden


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Harry Cobden
T: Paul Nicholls
Chacun Pour Soi


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Danny Mullins
T: Willie Mullins

How to pick a Ryanair chase winner

Willie Mullins has been a trainer to take extremely seriously in the Ryanair Chase in recent years, as he’s won five of the last seven renewals with some quality horses – Vautour, Un De Sceaux, Min and Allaho. In addition to paying close attention to Mullins, the focus has very much been the top of the market in this event. Eight of the last ten winners were first or second in the Ryanair Chase odds. Something else worth looking out for is the official ratings of the horses, as nine of the last ten winners had a rating of 162 or higher, so the class usually shines through.

All About The Ryanair Chase: Past and Present

The Ryanair Chase was first run in 2005 and was introduced as a Grade 2 before being upgraded to Grade 1 status in 2008. Sponsored by Ryanair since 2006, it is run over two miles, four and a half furlongs in which the horses jump 17 fences. Ruby Walsh is the leading jockey, having won it four times, including twice for trainer Willie Mullins, the top trainer in the race with five titles.

Being on Thursday at the Cheltenham Festival, the Ryanair Chase takes place on the new course, so it has a longer straight than the races from the previous two days on the old course. There has been two dual winner sof the Ryanair Chase – Albertas Run recorded successive victories in 2010 and 2011, and Allaho who has won the last two renewals and could bid for a hat-trick this year.

How Do Horses Qualify For the Ryanair Chase Race?

As the Ryanair Chase is an open race, it is available to any horse aged five years and older, with a BHA rating of 130 and upwards. Geldings carry a weight of 11st 10lbs (five-year-olds 11st 9lbs), and mares receive a 7lb allowance, meaning they carry 11st 3lbs.

What is the Ryanair Chase Prize Money in 2023?

The 2022 total prize money for the Ryanair Chase was £364,612.50, with the winner taking home £211,425, the runner up £79,912.50 3rd £40,200, 4th £20,287.50, 5th £10,387.50 and 6th £5,400

Ryanair Chase Past Winners 

There has been two dual winners of the Ryanair Chase – Albertas Run, who won back to back renewals in 2010 and 2011, and Allaho, who has won the last two renewals. Fondmort, Our Vic and the aforementioned Albertas Run all won the race at the grand old age of 10, but from 2012 onwards, the younger brigade have taken over with six seven-year-olds claiming the prize in that time frame.

Year Horse Odds Jockey Trainer
2011 Albertas Run 6/1 A P McCoy Jonjo O’Neill
2012 Riverside Theatre 7/2F Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson
2013 Cue Card 7/2 Joe Tizzard Colin Tizzard
2014 Dynaste 3/1F Tom Scudamore David Pipe
2015 Uxizandre 16/1 A P McCoy Alan King
2016 Vautour 1/1F Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2017 Un De Sceaux 7/4F Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2018 Balko Des Flos 8/1 Davy Russell Henry De Bromhead
2019 Frodon 9/2 Bryony Frost Paul Nicholls
2020 Min 2/1 Paul Townend Willie Mullins
2021 Allaho 3/1F Rachael Blackmore Willie Mullins
2022 Allaho 4/7F Paul Townend Willie Mullins

Other Races on Day 3 of the Cheltenham Festival

The Ryanair Chase is the feature race on Thursday, 17th March 2022, at the Cheltenham Festival. It’s supported by other brilliant races with the Stayers’ Hurdle and Turners Novices’ Chase, the two other Grade 1 races on the card. Here is the complete list of races on Day 3 of the Cheltenham Festival.

13:30 The Turners Novices’ Chase

14:10 The Pertemps Network Final

14:50 The Ryanair Chase

15:30 The Paddy Power Stayers’ Hurdle

16:10 The Paddy Power Plate

16:50 The Mares Novices’ Hurdle

17:30 Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup