Stayers’ Hurdle Tips

  • 16/03/2023
  • -:--

Our experts have you covered when it comes to discovering the ins and outs ahead of the Cheltenham Festival. We have everything on this page to help you with your Stayers’ Hurdle betting.

Crucial run style pointers, trends and the history of the race, and looking at Stayers’ Hurdle odds and the danger of overlooking big-priced outsiders. The predictions will come from our experts, and we’ll have our Stayers’ Hurdle tips uploaded as we get nearer to the big day.

Last year’s race saw 33/1 outsider Sire Du Berlais cause a major upset, winning for Gordon Elliott under a fine Mark Walsh ride.

Skybet New Customer Offer

Get £30 Free Bets When You Place ANY Bet

Claim Bonus 18+. T&Cs Apply.

Stayers’ Hurdle Tips – Overlooked Outsiders

The horses competing in this season’s Stayers’ Hurdle are yet to be announced, but the race has proved lucrative for those chasing the longer odds. As history tells us, outsiders can’t be overlooked in the Stayers’ Hurdle betting.

Only two of the last ten favourites have won. There were winners at some hefty prices in the remaining eight contests, including 2021 victor Flooring Porter at 12/1 and last year’s winner Sire Du Berlais at 33/1, but none bigger than Lisnagar Oscar in 2020, who was a whopping 50/1 winner. So the shortest horses’ Stayers’ Hurdle odds don’t always point towards the winner.

Our Stayers’ Hurdle tips will be uploaded nearer the time, but don’t discount an underdog story here.

2024 Stayers’ Hurdle Runners + Odds – Thursday 14th March 3:30

Horse Silks Jockey/Trainer Odds
Blazing Khal


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Philip Byrnes
T: Charles Byrnes


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Davy Russell
T: Gordon Elliott
Flooring Porter


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Danny Mullins
T: Gavin Cromwell
Home By The Lee


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: J J Slevin
T: Joseph Patrick O’Brien
Klassical Dream


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Paul Townend
T: Willie Mullins
Gold Tweet


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Johnny Charron
T: Gabriel Leenders
Paisley Park


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Aidan Coleman
T: Emma Lavelle
Ashdale Bob


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Keith Donoghue
T: Mrs John Harrington
Henri Le Farceur


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Felix de Giles
T: Hugo Merienne
Dashel Drasher


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Rex Dingle
T: Jeremy Scott
Sire Du Berlais


Horse Profile - Jockey Colours J: Mark Walsh
T: Gordon Elliott

How to pick a Stayers’ Hurdle winner 

Strong stamina is the key to coming out on top in the Stayers’ Hurdle. It can be a punishing race, and those who want to keep grinding away up the home straight come out on top. 

Only one horse older than eight has won the Stayers’ Hurdle for the last nine years, which was last year’s 11YO winner Sire Du Berlais. So you generally need a horse to come in who is a relative youngster in their career to date. 

There can also be a big field in this race, as in the last twelve years, there have been a double-figure number of runners every time. Aside from Flooring Porter’s from-the-front successes in 2021 and 2022, the other five winners in the last seven years had all raced in midfield or further back for the majority of the race and conserved their energy for the business end.

All About The Stayers’ Hurdle: Past and Present

The inaugural running of the Stayers’ Hurdle came in 1912 and is a Grade 1 race on the old course at Cheltenham over three miles with twelve hurdles jumped. It’s been sponsored by Paddy Power since 2020 but was known as the World Hurdle from 2005 to 2016 when Ladbrokes sponsored it and for a year by Ryanair.

Paul Nicholls is the winning-most trainer with four victories, and Ruby Walsh has won it the most times as a jockey, with five victories to his name. 

Even though it’s a long race, the winning distance is generally not long. Since 1995, the race has not been won by more than five lengths, which shows the competitive nature of the event.

How Do Horses Qualify For the Stayers’ Hurdle Race?

To be eligible to run in the Stayers’ Hurdle, horses need to be at least four years old and have a BHA rating of 130 or higher. Geldings carry 11st 10lbs (four-year-olds carry 11st), with mares getting a 7lb allowance.

What is the Stayers’ Hurdle Prize Money in 2024?

The prize money for the 2024 Stayers’ Hurdle was a pool of £325,000, with £197.695.65 going to the winner’s connections. The runner up received £74,482.81, with the third-place horse taking home £37.276.54. Prize money went all the way down to eighth place, collecting £1,194.54. 

Stayers’ Hurdle Past Winners 

The Stayers’ Hurdle has been a happy hunting ground for previous winners over the past couple of decades. Baracouda won it back to back in 2002 and 2003, Inglis Drever claimed three titles between 2005 and 2008 before Big Bucks reigned supreme by racking up a series of four wins from 2009 to 2012. Most recently, Flooring Porter is the most recent two-time winner, having won in 2021 and 2022.


Year Horse Odds Jockey Trainer
2011 Big Buck’s 10/11F Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls
2012 Big Buck’s 5/6F Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls
2013 Solwhit 17/2 Paul Carberry Charles Byrnes
2014 More Of That 15/2 Barry Geraghty Jonjo O’Neill
2015 Cole Harden 14/1 Gavin Sheehan Warren Greatrex
2016 Thistlecrack 1/1F Tom Scudamore Colin Tizzard
2017 Nichols Canyon 10/1 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2018 Penhill 12/1 Paul Townend Willie Mullins
2019 Paisley Park 11/8F Aidan Coleman Emma Lavelle
2020 Lisnagar Oscar 50/1 Adam Wedge Rebecca Curtis
2021 Flooring Porter 12/1 Danny Mullins Gavin Cromwell
2022 Flooring Porter 4/1 Danny Mullins Gavin Cromwell
2023 Sire Du Berlais 33/1 Mark Walsh Gordon Elliott

Other Races on Day 3 of the Cheltenham Festival

The Stayers’ Hurdle is one of seven races on another terrific card at the Cheltenham Festival on Thursday, 14th March 2024. It gets underway with the Turners Novices’ Chase and the feature race of the day is the Ryanair Chase. Here is the complete list of races on Day 3 of the Cheltenham Festival.

13:30 The Turners Novices’ Chase

14:10 The Pertemps Network Final

14:50 The Ryanair Steeple Chase

15:30 The Paddy Power Stayers’ Hurdle

16:10 The Paddy Power Plate

16:50 The Mares Novices’ Hurdle

17:30 Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup